Used Car Lemon Laws

Buying a used car is a nerve-wracking experience. Though you want to trust the salesperson on the other side of the table, you also wonder whether the individual is 100% reputable—or whether they know the full extent of the vehicle’s history.

Purchasing a car always includes a little bit of risk, but sometimes the vehicle you buy comes with more problems than you anticipated. In addition to the headaches this creates, it also generates a greater financial burden for you to carry. That’s why a small handful of states have enacted used car lemon laws. These laws are designed to protect consumers from egregious car issues and misguided dealers. State used car lemon laws share many similarities to the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act, a federal law that shields consumers from warranty issues.

An Overview of Used Car Lemon Laws

Used car lemon laws vary from state to state, but there are some generalities you can expect across borders. Those generalities include: Some states may even require either a warranty or minimum inspection before a car is sold to a consumer.

Used Car Lemon Laws in States We Focus On

At Robison Lemon Law Group LLC, we specialize in used car lemon laws throughout New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. With years of experience under our belts in these locations, we’re uniquely positioned to represent consumers in our region.

Our Expert Mechanics Will Help Maximize Your Chances Of Recovery

Here’s a quick overview of what you should know about lemon laws in each state:

Under New Jersey law, a used vehicle is covered under the lemon laws if:

  • the vehicle is seven years old or newer
  • the vehicle was purchased for at least $3,000
  • the vehicle’s mileage was no more than 100,000 miles when it was purchased

New Jersey’s lemon law also requires used car dealers to:

  • Provide consumers with a warranty that varies in length depending on the vehicle’s mileage. If a vehicle has fewer than 24,000 miles on its odometer, you should receive a warranty of 90 days or 3,000 miles—whichever comes first. The warranty period decreases with miles. A car with more than 24,000 should come with a warranty of 60 days or 2,000 miles. If a car has more than 60,000 miles, it falls to 30 days or 1,000 miles.
  • Repair or replace any broken or malfunctioning component while the vehicle is still under warranty.

If your dealer fails to do either of things, you may have a case against them, and Robison Lemon Law Group LLC can represent you.

Avg. Days To Settlement: 55

Under New York law, a used vehicle is covered under the lemon laws if it meets the following requirements:

  • the vehicle was purchased after it reached 18,000 miles or two years of age—whichever came first
  • the vehicle was purchased from a New York dealership
  • the vehicle was sold for at least $1,500
  • the vehicle was sold with fewer than 100,000 miles on the odometer
  • the vehicle is used primarily for personal purposes

The law also requires used car dealers to:

  • Provide consumers with a warranty that varies in length depending on the vehicle’s mileage. Like New Jersey, dealers in New York should provide warranties that scale with the car’s mileage. A vehicle with mileage between 18,000 and 36,000 should receive a warranty of 90 days or 4,000 miles—whichever comes first. For vehicles with an odometer reading between 36,001 and 79,999, that warranty drops to 60 days or 3,000 miles. If the vehicle has between 80,000 and 100,000 miles, it falls to 30 days or 1,000 miles.
  • Repair or replace any broken or malfunctioning component while the vehicle is still under warranty.

If your dealer fails to do either of things, you may have a case against them, and Robison Lemon Law Group LLC can represent you.

Our Expert Mechanics Will Evaluate Your Case

At this point, Pennsylvania doesn’t have a used car lemon law to protect consumers. However, residents of Pennsylvania can lean on the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act for protection.

Remember: Robison Lemon Law Group LLC can protect you if you have a case against a dealer for violating the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act.

Seek Legal Assistance for Your Vehicle

If you were sold a lemon in New Jersey, New York, or Pennsylvania, we’re here for you. Robison Lemon Law Group LLC can help you navigate your state’s used car lemon laws, and even the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act to ensure you receive the justice you deserve.